Just checking

A cozy place to hang out and discuss all things music.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

Alasdair
Impressive
Impressive

Just checking

Post by Alasdair » Mon Jan 16, 2017 3:04 pm

Newbie here. not just to taxi but anything music that's not in my livingroom.

this might sound really stupid but is there anything basic 101 that i should be doing legally before submitting music through taxi.. as i have no record label or anything like that. i had a brief search in FAQ but only chats about setting up LLC came up which doesnt seem that relevant to me right now...

just imagine iam a 10 year old kid.. is there anything i should know..

I currently label the mp3 files as the same name as the track title. put down the genre and my name as the artist and composer. oh and set the file as read only after i edited it.

So have i missed anything obvious and am i safe / reasonably protected to submit music as is. as files like that..

thanks for your time in advance

MattCurious
Impressive
Impressive

Re: Just checking

Post by MattCurious » Mon Jan 16, 2017 3:51 pm

Legally speaking, the main thing is not to infringe anyone else's copyright - broadly speaking, this means: Ensure that you have the permission of any co-writers before you submit, and don't sample or copy other people's stuff.
-------------------------
matt-collinson.com

VanderBoegh
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Post by VanderBoegh » Mon Jan 16, 2017 4:06 pm

Like Matt above me said, as long as you're submitting your own music you're okay. Nothing to worry about. Just make sure you haven't used any illegal or uncleared samples on your music.

As for mp3 metadata, it's wise to include your contact information in the mp3. However, Taxi will send your contact info along to the listing party if your music is forwarded. Still, it's a good standard practice to always include your contact info - at a bare minimum - in the mp3 metadata.

~~Matt

Alasdair
Impressive
Impressive