no concern for Copyright going through Taxi?

A creative space for business discussions.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

JTlian

no concern for Copyright going through Taxi?

Post by JTlian » Fri Jan 13, 2017 10:39 pm

Hello, JT Newbie here. I am confused as to how cavalier the handling of copyright protection is here. Mr Lasko called me directly and tried to explain that its a very loose area here. I'm afraid I did not absorb his info well enough. Can anyone speak to that topic. Do you bother to PA / SR your work?

MattCurious
Impressive
Impressive

Re: no concern for Copyright going through Taxi?

Post by MattCurious » Mon Jan 16, 2017 3:54 pm

I don't really understand your question. Are you asking what is necessary to create copyright?
-------------------------
matt-collinson.com

VanderBoegh
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Post by VanderBoegh » Mon Jan 16, 2017 4:02 pm

Honestly, I haven't officially copywritten anything through the Library of Congress since 2011... About 1,700 pieces of music ago... I'm not in the least bit concerned about that either, although I may be an anomaly. Though most people (and keep in mind that use of the word "most" is by no means backed up by statistics or studies) who make 1-3 pieces of music daily and churn out tracks for immediate client demands have no time to copyright anything. The Library of Congress' copyright process, by it's very nature, takes too long to protect pieces of music which need to be sent out the door within hours of completion.

So I just don't worry about it. Nothing bad has happened to me yet. **Knock on wood**

~~Matt

eeoo
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Post by eeoo » Mon Jan 16, 2017 4:50 pm