with industry Pro, Nick Batzdorf

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

denalihighway
Committed Musician
Committed Musician

Computer and recording setup...a little assistance required

Post by denalihighway » Wed Jul 02, 2014 8:25 am

Hi all,

OK so this is one for the computer geeks, which I mean in the bets possible way – because boy do I wish I was one of them. its always been something in the background for me, but I'm realising now that as an independent musician I need to be computer savvy.

I need to do something drastic about my setup and it has me a bit flummoxed to say the least.

So this is my setup.

Main computer – there’s two hard disks

Desktop PC running:
Windows7 64-bit.
AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core 4200. 2.21GHz
3 GB RAM

The two hard-disks:
One with 232GB of memory
Other with 189GB of memory

What loads up in startup is SATA1 which is “Maxtor 6L200M0”. There is also SATA 3: “ST3250620AS”. I accidentally switched these once, SATA3 booted up with Windows XP, which caused your narrator to curse a few times and then switch back to SATA1.

Does this mean SATA1 is master and SATA 3 is slave or what?

When I boot the other option, Windows XP runs but is password protected and i can't get the password at the moment, the guy i bought the computer from is off the grid at present. (he's a musician not a criminal just in case you're wondering :) )

Apart from memory / processing issues, a big problem with all this seems to be…its all offline…I download software and updates on an old laptop and transfer everything over.

It seemed a pretty good idea when I bought the computer. Keep it offline, clean from internet nonsense etc..but in reality its turning into a nightmare when installing software and updates and it just seems crazy in this day and age. Its getting more and more aggravating and time-wasting.