How many forwards typical before pay off

A creative space for business discussions.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

nextphase

How many forwards typical before pay off

Post by nextphase » Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:56 pm

Hi guys,

I'm relatively new to taxi - joined in late February.

I make my living playing music, so, this is not a hobby, but an attempt to make money. I see taxi as a way to make a change in
my career, in that I want to get into composing for tv, film, etc.

I've had 8 forwards, and a lot of returns. At this point, I've not been contacted by any of the companies that my music has been forwarded to.
When I look at the time invested, versus the money earned ( zero at this point ), it's not looking like a good investment. Yes, I know, it takes time but, what has been your experience as far as 1) how long from forward until hearing from company? 2) how many forwards before any response? Obviously it's not the same for everybody, but some idea of common would be nice.

Thanks!

eeoo
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: How many forwards typical before pay off

Post by eeoo » Fri Aug 01, 2014 2:17 pm

Taxi veterans talk about a 5 year plan, even to the point where there is a class offered at the Rally called, you guessed it, the 5 year plan. To my knowledge there is no "average" timeline. I don't know how long it took for mreto be contacted from a library after a forward but as with everything in this biz it can take years to see any action. You can look up 5 year plan on this forum and find plenty of info. You can also have a look at Matt Hirt's videos on his experience in the biz, very informative and well worth the time, I think you can find them on youtube.

eo

nextphase

Post by nextphase » Fri Aug 01, 2014 5:28 pm

Thanks for the reply eo.

Yes, I've heard mention of the 5 year thing, and I've seen some of Matt's video's