Orchestral simulations too thin

with industry Pro, Nick Batzdorf

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

janetsnare
Active
Active

Orchestral simulations too thin

Post by janetsnare » Fri May 15, 2015 1:21 pm

Hi, I'm new to orchestral simulations and wondering how to improve them. A recent critique I got said my samples needed to be fuller, roomier, and less synthy.

In the instrumental I used:
  • [/Kontact 5 violin ensemble - pizzicato
    Kontact 5 double basses - sustain articulation
    Kontact 5 violas - starzando articulation
    Kontact 5 cellos - sustain articulation
    Kontact 5 strings - sustain articulation
    Halion SE cellos, duo
    Halion SE cinematic strings\list]

I panned the strings right and left, though I kept them up front like a real orchestra.

Any suggestions are welcome! the instrumental in question is "the End of Time", which you can find on my taxi page or at Soundcloud:
    https://soundcloud.com/janetsnare/the-end-of-time.

Thanks for your help!
    Janet

andygabrys
Total Pro
Total Pro
Location: Summerland, BC by way of Santa Fe, Chilliwack, Boston, NYC

Re: Orchestral simulations too thin

Post by andygabrys » Fri May 15, 2015 8:29 pm

Hey Janet,

this thread might help. http://forums.taxi.com/topic130947.html

Its a deep subject, and its not easy at first. Some of it is just your approach, some of it is maximizing the effect of your orchestral sounds, and some of it is the quality of the orchestral packages you use (unfortunately).

There are a lot of packages out there that are setup to sound pretty convincing out of the box.

To make orchestral samples work, you have to make three things happen - good composition and orchestration (i.e. know how to write for strings so they don't sound like they are played on a piano), good choices with string sounds and articulations, and programming them and mixing them in a believable fashion.

some things that I would focus on: