How to get started finding Libraries

A creative space for business discussions.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

moodscape

How to get started finding Libraries

Post by moodscape » Mon Aug 17, 2015 10:54 pm

Hi All,

I'm fairly new to Taxi and the publishing game but I'm not new to composition and songwriting. I'm realizing while reading through some of the forum posts that libraries are a logical and possibly necessary step in going from making music to placing music. I've seen several posts talking about this. Can anyone please give me some insight on what to google, or where to look to find a real resource with good contact info for music supervisors and libraries (preferably libraries, as from my reading I've come to understand it's a good starting place. Please correct me if I'm wrong :)). There's so much info on the web, I find myself getting lost in it all and I just want to ensure that I'm on the right path.

I understand that contacting them and submitting through their preferred method and following up 3 to 4 weeks later is the commonly accepted time frames. I do have a couple of questions:

1) How many tracks should I be showcasing within my demo?
2)I compose across several genres. Should my demo stay to one genre or should I showcase my talents across genres?

Also, any other useful information, pointers, complaints, success stories that you have would be much appreciated.

Thanks for listenin :D
-T

VanderBoegh
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: How to get started finding Libraries

Post by VanderBoegh » Tue Aug 18, 2015 2:22 pm

Hey T, the best way to get into the library side of things is to do what you've signed up for by joining Taxi. Submit music to appropriate Taxi listings, and if your music fits the bill, Taxi will forward your music on to the person who is looking for it. In a ton of cases, this will be a music library that is actively looking for music.