Isn't "contemporary, all genre's" contradictory by nature?

Liked your review? Rave about it! Hated it, let us know!

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

nolosolo
Getting Busy
Getting Busy

Isn't "contemporary, all genre's" contradictory by nature?

Post by nolosolo » Mon Aug 31, 2015 7:23 pm

Okay, I'm new at this. Never cared about what "genre" my material was in since I wrote only for myself.

So, I got this rejection based on "Style not on target for contemporary appeal" yet the request was for: "contemporary, all genre's & tempos".

If "contemporary" is that specific a category, then you can't say "all genre's" can you? What am I missing?

My lyrics didn't cut it either for a pitch requesting "lyric themes about, “Home, Missing Home, Returning Home, etc.”

Rejection response was: "lyrically a bit specific to scene "been on the road way too long" etc."

BTW, the song name is "My Heart is Home" (http://www.taxi.com/kentone) the here's the lyrics:

My Heart is Home
------------------------------------------------
Now I'm almost home
I can see it up ahead
no more need to roam
Just want to rest instead
--------------------------------------------------
Now I'm home again
Been on the road too long
It's time to settle in
Doing nothing makes me strong
-------------------------------------------------
I'm home this time to stay awhile
Back where it all began
Been too long without seeing your smile
My heart is finally free again
Minimalist to be sure but "specific to scene"? What does that even mean? I've mentioned "home" in every verse!.....

I'm starting to wonder about these listings now as there is another coming up the 4th with nearly the exact same pitch about "home" only for "contemporary rock" this time..... Think I'll save my $5....... :(

Len911
Total Pro
Total Pro

Re: Isn't "contemporary, all genre's" contradictory by natur

Post by Len911 » Mon Aug 31, 2015 9:41 pm