How do I export my tracks so they are louder?

with industry Pro, Nick Batzdorf

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

Lizh

How do I export my tracks so they are louder?

Post by Lizh » Sun Nov 29, 2015 5:31 pm

Hi all, I am a pro musician but amateur producer. I am using Logic Pro X with an apogee maestro 2 to write and mix and wondering how I make my mixes sound more full and export them so they are louder. I am guessing it has something to do with pluggins, but not really sure where to start. Here is a sample from my sound cloud page for your reference. What would you suggest? Thanks. https://soundcloud.com/liz-hennessy/hope
Liz.

TheElement
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: How do I export my tracks so they are louder?

Post by TheElement » Sun Nov 29, 2015 6:40 pm

Hi Liz,

What I do is I dont low cut that much. only if there is a conflict with some sounds. if you low cut too much you end up with a thin mix. so only eq if really needed.

as for volume I like to add a compressor and limiter to the master channel. There are so many master chains you could do. for me I just use EQ > Compressor > Stereo Enhancer > Limiter. And I have a lot of headroom in my DAW so mix hot and that also helps with volume. If I need to tweak I will turn down the pre amp on the master buss.

But there are some quick tools to get you a louder mix like Rob Chiarelli's MixBussLite. Thats a low cost one.

And then there is Ozone. Of course there are many more out there but those are the two I have tried.
Hollywood Music In Media Award Nominated Record Producer from The BahamasFacebook | Soundcloud

Len911
Total Pro
Total Pro

Post by Len911 » Sun Nov 29, 2015 6:52 pm

https://youtu.be/b_nuqKID26s

Liz, limiter is what you are defining. Compressors/limiters. There should be a few in Logic Pro X, the one in the youtube is the "adaptive limiter".
https://soundcloud.com/huck-sawyer-finn
Not an expert on contemporary music

andygabrys
Total Pro
Total Pro