Technical/ Legal question- PRO Related

A creative space for business discussions.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

edmondredd
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Technical/ Legal question- PRO Related

Post by edmondredd » Tue Feb 02, 2016 5:27 am

Hello everybody,
I am a composer who's based in Dubai, in the UAE, and I've never been registered to any PRO.
I did score a couple of local short movies in here, with a local contract under local laws.
Now that I'm on Taxi (with no forwards yet), I was wondering if I should get registered to some PRO's and if yes, which one would you guys recommend.
Or should I wait for a forward, and then for a contact/contract to take this step?
Is there any dfference between european and american PROs?
Thanks a lot,
edmond redd

Image Image Image Image

andygabrys
Total Pro
Total Pro
Location: Summerland, BC by way of Santa Fe, Chilliwack, Boston, NYC

Re: Technical/ Legal question- PRO Related

Post by andygabrys » Tue Feb 02, 2016 8:51 am

edmondredd wrote:Hello everybody,
I am a composer who's based in Dubai, in the UAE, and I've never been registered to any PRO.
I did score a couple of local short movies in here, with a local contract under local laws.
Welcome, congrats, and I am interested to know how the local laws get you compensated. PM is fine.

edmondredd wrote: Now that I'm on Taxi (with no forwards yet), I was wondering if I should get registered to some PRO's and if yes, which one would you guys recommend.
you can Google search and also find a lot of info in these forums concerning this - which is a typical question from people starting out.

You can only usually be a member of one PRO. Usually its the one in your home country / place of residence. There is one situation where a foreign writer has some how registered with their home PRO (say APRA in Australia) and also registered with BMI - I am not sure of the specifics.