Music supervisor asking for demo fee

A creative space for business discussions.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

phustedt1

Music supervisor asking for demo fee

Post by phustedt1 » Mon Apr 18, 2016 9:57 am

Hello TAXI forums!

New TAXI member and first time poster.

I am a music composer and was just contacted by a music supervisor looking to pitch my stuff out and was asking for a demo fee/demo turn around time as a composer for hire.

It seems this is for making demos for clients to see if they are interested.

What do you think an appropriate fee would be for a new composer looking to get in but not look too greedy or too desperate?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!! Thanks!

andygabrys
Total Pro
Total Pro
Location: Summerland, BC by way of Santa Fe, Chilliwack, Boston, NYC

Re: Music supervisor asking for demo fee

Post by andygabrys » Tue Apr 19, 2016 1:12 pm

phustedt1 wrote:Hello TAXI forums!

New TAXI member and first time poster.

I am a music composer and was just contacted by a music supervisor looking to pitch my stuff out and was asking for a demo fee/demo turn around time as a composer for hire.

It seems this is for making demos for clients to see if they are interested.

What do you think an appropriate fee would be for a new composer looking to get in but not look too greedy or too desperate?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!! Thanks!
In my experience in commercial music houses both as an intern and then a free-lancer after that:

for a piece you usually would expect +/- $250.

That is totally variable depending on:

Whether or not the client is offering demo fees in the first place (it never hurts to ask)
Your standing as a composer (if working for a company, they might give more senior writers demo fees and you starting out nothing)
etc.
etc.
etc.