My 1st Music Library Deal - Need Some Advice!!

A creative space for business discussions.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

jasminecrowe

My 1st Music Library Deal - Need Some Advice!!

Post by jasminecrowe » Fri Apr 29, 2016 3:52 pm

Hey everybody,

I was recently contacted by a music library after getting a forward a couple weeks ago. This is my first time and I need some advice regarding the contract.

This is a non-exclusive "retitling" deal. It all seems pretty straightforward - however I was wondering if this would affect future exclusive deals and how this all works.

Here is an excerpt from the contract:

1. The non-exclusive right, license and authority to record, edit, re-title, arrange, orchestrate, and synchronize COMPOSITIONS, to embody those COMPOSITIONS in the LIBRARIES, to make copies of such embodiments and to distribute and license such copies in all media in perpetuity and throughout the Universe.

2. COMPOSER grants DMI master and synchronization control of the COMPOSITIONS embodied in the LIBRARIES including the right to license the COMPOSITIONS to third parties to be recorded in synchronization or timed relation an unlimited number of times in any and all forms of media, whether now known or hereafter devised, in perpetuity and throughout the Universe.

3. DMI agrees to exclude COMPOSITIONS from the LIBRARIES upon COMPOSER'S request. COMPOSER acknowledges that such COMPOSITIONS will not be excluded until the term of any existing licensing agreements between DMI and third parties at the time of COMPOSER’S exclusion request has expired.