Songs with Vocals Removed - Edit out verses?

A creative space for business discussions.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

robroper
Getting Busy
Getting Busy

Songs with Vocals Removed - Edit out verses?

Post by robroper » Wed Jul 06, 2016 12:47 pm

Greetings,

I'm new to Taxi, having joined last month. 5 years ago, I was working with an agency to place my songs in the TV industry, and they asked me to send them a CD of all the songs remixed without vocals. So I had the engineer remix them without vocals. I did the same for two other CDs I released later. My question is: for Taxi submissions where they want instrumental cues, is it a good idea to submit these non-vocal mixes as is, or should I edit them down to remove the verses? Since the vocals carried the melody, and that's gone now, the verses sound a little strange. I wondering if music without a melody is of any use in a cue? And since they seem to want cues of 2 to 2 1/2 minutes, and song might be 4 minutes, should I cut at least some verses out? It shouldn't be too hard for me to just load the non-vocal songs into a DAW and edit them down.

Like I said, I'm new to all this, so I'm trying to figure out if there's any use for my songs in the film and TV industry, and how to best submit things. So suggestions and advice are greatly appreciated. I just submitted 3 non-vocal songs mixes, and realized I should have posted this question in the forum first! Oh well, next time I'll know.

Rob Roper

mikemichnya
Impressive
Impressive

Re: Songs with Vocals Removed - Edit out verses?

Post by mikemichnya » Wed Jul 06, 2016 8:09 pm

Hey Rob,

I haven't had any success yet, so I'm not the most qualified here, and without actually hearing the tracks, it's hard to give an informed opinion. That said, I suggest adding the melody with some lead instrument - something that fits the genre.