Talk about the rally here.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

artturner
Impressive
Impressive

Please help me learn how to network before November

Post by artturner » Thu Jul 28, 2016 8:04 am

Hi!

I feel like I really do not network with others well at all. In my current situation, I rarely interact one-on-one with people in the real world. But I want the upcoming Rally (my first!) to be a positive experience that moves my music career forward in a big way.

Right now, here's how I imagine things will go:

Me: "Hi, my name is Art and I write instrumental cues. Here's my CD.
[awkward silence ensues]

Can any of you offer tips on how to make the interactions with supervisors and library owners turn into relationships/partnerships?

This is my first year with Taxi. I've had 30 forwards since the end of March (about 60% forward rate), but no contacts or deals.

Thanks!
Art

cassmcentee
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: Please help me learn how to network before November

Post by cassmcentee » Thu Jul 28, 2016 8:41 am

Hey Art! I hear ya...
The Music Biz people are well aware that they will get loaded down with tons of CDs
and that they will be peppered with questions for as long as they are in the building.
It has to be quite daunting if you ask me...

To begin relationships in all walks of life the emphasis should be on you asking questions and getting to know who you are talking to.
Most everyone would rather talk about themselves than listen to who they are talking to...
I learned this lesson from my South American friends who, when in the States, didn't ever seem to say much.
When asked why, the answer was "Everyone interrupts"
My friends would always let someone finish their thought and pause before answering...
I've tried really hard to put that into practice when I meet new people.

It shows that there is a sincerety to the conversation

Now, once you get to know who the person is, the next question is "What are they looking for?"