DIY acoustic panels

with industry Pro, Nick Batzdorf

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

ohtravioso
Active
Active

DIY acoustic panels

Post by ohtravioso » Tue Oct 26, 2010 3:17 am

Anyone put together their own acoustic panels before? From what I can gather from the web, you get some rigid fiberglass or similar material like a mineral wool at around 2'x4' at 1" or 2", and you put them in some wood frames and cover them with some porous fabric like a burlap. Anyone done this before? I'm an electrical engineer and a software developer, and if I step into the world of making things in 3D, my brain starts to melt.

I found this company which sells pre made panels of that size for about $50 a piece.

http://www.atsacoustics.com/cat--ATS-Ac ... --100.html

But they sell the insulating material for six of them pre-cut to that size for about $40. Buy some fabric, some wood framing pieces. I think you could save a good deal of money, but I haven't done the math for all the wood and fabric. They sell frames for $20 a piece, but I think you could make them for a lot cheaper if you didn't make them closed on the back. Just had some front and back frames to hold the insulation in and got some 2" corner pieces.

rld
Committed Musician
Committed Musician

Re: DIY acoustic panels

Post by rld » Tue Oct 26, 2010 6:40 am

I just made 4 4"x24"x48" absorbers and 1 2"x48"x48" cloud for about $150.
Its much cheaper to build yourself if you can.
I used THIS as a guide
Makes a tremendous difference.
I can go into more detail if you need.

ohtravioso
Active
Active

Post by ohtravioso » Tue Oct 26, 2010 12:36 pm

Those look great. Do you hear a substantial difference? What'd you use to hang it on the ceiling?

What do you think about a 2" panel with an air gap as opposed to the 4"?

ohtravioso
Active
Active

Post by ohtravioso » Tue Oct 26, 2010 12:54 pm