Tell Your Friends about Gear that you love

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

musicalweather
Impressive
Impressive

Looking for dual-channel preamp

Post by musicalweather » Fri Feb 25, 2011 5:32 pm

Hi Folks,

Can anyone recommend a dual-channel preamp?

Here's my situation: I'm looking to use it mainly for on-location recording of classical performances and recitals. (I'm also a composer and occasionally record live instruments in my studio, but mostly I use virtual instruments.) My portable rig includes two AKG C-1000 mics, a Yamaha MG12 mixer, and a Tascam cd recorder. I transfer the files for editing and processing to my home rig, which includes Digital Performer 7. You can here some samples of my recording here:
http://charlottemcmillan.com/Audioservices.html

My portable rig isn't the greatest, but it's not bad either. I'd like to get rid of the clunky Yamaha mixer and get a nice dual-channel preamp. I realize, a good preamp may be worth way more than the mics I'm using, but I think that's okay. I"m hoping to find something good in the $400 to $600 range, but there doesn't seem to be that much out there. I'm looking for a 2-ch. preamp that provides a nice, clean, maybe even silky sound. I'm not looking for distortion. If the preamp comes with EQ, that would be good.

You recommendations? Thoughts?

Thanks! :D

eeoo
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: Looking for dual-channel preamp

Post by eeoo » Fri Feb 25, 2011 6:11 pm