1099 v LLC and publishing

A creative space for business discussions.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

RSGill

1099 v LLC and publishing

Post by RSGill » Wed Oct 16, 2019 9:44 am

I'm a beginner in the sync licensing world and have been researching how best to set myself up on the business side of things and have a question regarding publishing.

Can I keep myself as an independent contractor (1099) and register as publisher with a PRO (just for my own works) or am I required to use an LLC business entity in order to collect $$ on the publishing side?

Thanks in advance!

annayarbrough
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: 1099 v LLC and publishing

Post by annayarbrough » Thu Oct 17, 2019 12:06 pm

Not sure about the others, but BMI allows you to register a publishing company as either a sole proprietor or LLC
Anna Yarbrough
Website | Spotify | SoundCloud

jaywilliams
Committed Musician
Committed Musician

Post by jaywilliams » Thu Oct 17, 2019 5:00 pm

RSGill wrote:
Wed Oct 16, 2019 9:44 am
I'm a beginner in the sync licensing world and have been researching how best to set myself up on the business side of things and have a question regarding publishing.

Can I keep myself as an independent contractor (1099) and register as publisher with a PRO (just for my own works) or am I required to use an LLC business entity in order to collect $$ on the publishing side?

Thanks in advance!
annayarbrough wrote:
Thu Oct 17, 2019 12:06 pm
Not sure about the others, but BMI allows you to register a publishing company as either a sole proprietor or LLC
Actually its even easier than that as BMI allows you to register with no publishing company. They will show the Publisher as "Manuscript" and allow you to allocate 200% for the writers share.

So to answer the original post, Yes, you can 1099 it.

If its advisable to create an LLC for your songwriting is a separate question and I'd love to hear others' insights on that one!

Jay :)