1st Contract offered! can anyone please advise!

Did you get a deal through TAXI? Lets hear about it!

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

wildman3344

1st Contract offered! can anyone please advise!

Post by wildman3344 » Sat Jan 24, 2009 4:20 pm

Hello there, My name is Paul KappaIf anyone can offer any advice at all, I'd really appreciate it. I had a song forwarded to a music library last month and I've just had an email from them, with an offer of a contract. I know from reading the forum that I cannot say who the offer is from, so I have excluded it from the contract, which is shown below along with their message. Can anyone tell me if this is a pretty standard contract, especially the part about the song being re-titled! and modifying it in case I want to do an exclusive deal in the future! I'm fairly new to Taxi, having joined in Oct 08 and although I have been writing and performing for over 20 years, I am a complete novice when it comes to the ins and outs of music licensing. I suppose the wisest thing to do is get myself a music lawyer and I probably will, but I just thought I'd see what your feed-back is, if you can spare the time to reply. Thank-you in advance, Paul.PS, the song is called A Thousand Miles and my Taxi URL is:My TAXI link: http://www.taxi.com/paulkappa EMAIL:Hi, I just received your music from Taxi for MTV shows. It sounds great! What ---------------- Music offers is a non-exclusive publishing arrangement. Basically, we retitle your song(s) and name ourselves as the publisher, while you retain the writer's share. You are free to use the song for any other non-exclusive deals you like, and you keep the publishing on the original title. If you'd like to be able to make exclusive deals with these songs in the future, then the best thing to do now would be to present us with slightly modified versions. We work with many many shows and hope to be able to incorporate your existing catalog and/or new stuff you might create as the need arises. For