Annual Update - closing Year Six

Did you get a deal through TAXI? Lets hear about it!

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

VanderBoegh
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Annual Update - closing Year Six

Post by VanderBoegh » Mon Oct 30, 2017 3:54 pm

It's that time of year again where I post my "Annual Update". I've been doing this for a few years right before the Road Rally, as the 2011 Rally marks the turning point in my musical path and is where I decided to pursue TV music rather than chasing a chart-topping country hit, and is where I made a goal for myself to make enough money from music that I could eventually quit my day job.

This year was the first where I was full-time as a music composer. I'd been dreaming of this point for my whole life, and though I fantasized and worked hard at music before joining Taxi, I couldn't ever fully comprehend a time where I'd be paid handsomely for writing music. That stuff always seemed like a pipe dream. Granted, I was always willing to chase it, but it seemed forever out of reach. But now I'm living it. And it STILL seems hard to believe! Haha. Sometimes I look at the clock in the morning and still say to myself, "damn, I'd be stuck in traffic right now during my morning commute if I was still working corporate...", or "I used that get up THAT early every morning to put on a suit and tie?!?!". I say these things as I'm making a cup of coffee, still wearing slippers, and mozying out to my backyard studio..