Anyone use REAPER as a DAW?

with industry Pro, Nick Batzdorf

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

bmoBauhaus
Getting Busy
Getting Busy

Anyone use REAPER as a DAW?

Post by bmoBauhaus » Fri Nov 05, 2021 6:41 am

I primarily use REAPER and I have gotten pretty good at the flow of everything but I'm looking for some help. I'm primarily a composer and deal with all my music on a more visual/theoretical level. Its easier to make decisions by looking at sheet music so I normally write everything in Dorico and then transfer the MIDI data to Reaper and start plugging in to VSTs from there. I keep getting weird mixes though -- even when I barely do anything to the tracks. I'm wondering if there is anyone out there that is good at this sort of thing. I would happily pay you for a few lessons to get better at this. Thanks.

RMikkelsen

Re: Anyone use REAPER as a DAW?

Post by RMikkelsen » Fri Nov 05, 2021 9:28 am

What is weird about the mixes? I would definately lend a hand when time permits. If you want you can join me in the 'friends of taxi' discord chat - https://discord.gg/FKYPZmK - where we can talk, stream and share files etc.

bmoBauhaus
Getting Busy
Getting Busy

Post by bmoBauhaus » Mon Nov 08, 2021 12:03 pm

Awesome. I will do that later today.

timothycook
Impressive
Impressive

Post by timothycook » Sun Nov 14, 2021 12:00 pm

I know it won't have all the bells and whistles of Dorico. Or even MuseScore for that matter.

But there is a notation editor view in Reaper's MIDI editor window.

HTH,
Tim
“You’re braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.” — Christopher Robin

See: https://soundcloud.com/timothywcook

superblonde
Impressive
Impressive

Post by superblonde » Mon Jan 03, 2022 4:20 pm

bmoBauhaus wrote:
Fri Nov 05, 2021 6:41 am
Its easier to make decisions by looking at sheet music so I normally write everything in Dorico and then transfer the MIDI data