CONTRACT

A creative space for business discussions.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

Raincoat

CONTRACT

Post by Raincoat » Wed Oct 11, 2023 6:01 am

Hello everyone,

I'm new to this, and I'm writing from abroad in Europe. I'd like to hear from someone who has closed a deal. How do exclusive and non-exclusive contracts work? In addition to the percentage, are there also upfront cash payments, and if so, could you provide me with a range.

Thank you

cosmicdolphin
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: CONTRACT

Post by cosmicdolphin » Wed Oct 11, 2023 8:50 am

Raincoat wrote:
Wed Oct 11, 2023 6:01 am
Hello everyone,

I'm new to this, and I'm writing from abroad in Europe. I'd like to hear from someone who has closed a deal. How do exclusive and non-exclusive contracts work? In addition to the percentage, are there also upfront cash payments, and if so, could you provide me with a range.

Thank you
Hi - Also in Europe here

Usually whatever you're offered will be the standard terms for that library so it will be a case of " take it or leave it " i.e. there won't usually be any room for negotiatin as all the writers are on the same deal in my experience.

The typical scenario is 50-50 : so you would keep 100% of the writers share, and the library would keep 100% of the publishers share of any backend royalties generated. This usually applies to any Sync Fees ( one off licence amounts for special usage ) although they are rarer unless you're writing tailer music or songs that may get placed in Film or Advertising. You typically won't get sync fees for instrumental cues in catalogues dealing mainly with reality TV etc. which makes up the vast majority of the music used.