Does this seem like a good strategy?

A cozy place to hang out and discuss all things music.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

harperpeterson
Getting Busy
Getting Busy

Does this seem like a good strategy?

Post by harperpeterson » Tue Jul 30, 2019 2:40 pm

Hey, everyone!

I’m fairly new to Taxi and I’ve been slowly finding my groove with productivity and a consistent writing schedule.

I’ve only had two tracks forwarded so far, but my strategy has been this: After finding out my track has been forwarded I split my time between writing to new listings and writing MORE tracks to the listing I got a forward for. That way, if and when I get contacted by a library, I’ll have a bunch more tracks in that style if they request them.

Does anyone else do something similar? I’d love to hear about how people who aren’t yet signed with libraries manage their writing time.

Thanks!
Harper

jaywilliams
Committed Musician
Committed Musician

Re: Does this seem like a good strategy?

Post by jaywilliams » Tue Jul 30, 2019 5:25 pm

hey Harper that sure makes sense to me - in my case I'm building a stockpile of drone cues, but I pretty much just mix those in when I'm not writing to a listing or working on a collaborative track. I have maybe half a ton of them by now, actually just finishing up another one right now.

I figure getting really good (great?) at a commercially viable niche has to be a good use of time.

And for sure, if and when I crack the code on another type of listing, I'll write a ton more of those as well.

Have fun!

Jay :)
// keep it groovy and make great music :) - Jay

J.W. Hagarty, Producer
Jay Williams Productions
Spotify: bit.ly/spotifyjay
Web: jaywilliamsproductions.com
Songtradr: jay.williams.productions
SoundCloud: jay-williams-productions

kyliecouper
Getting Busy
Getting Busy

Post by kyliecouper » Wed Jul 31, 2019 8:26 pm

You might be waiting a while for a library to contact you, but it's still a good strategy.