Empty Stages ROUGH DEMO

We're putting YOU in the drivers seat!

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

seanmorrow

Empty Stages ROUGH DEMO

Post by seanmorrow » Fri Dec 08, 2023 3:00 pm

Hi everyone, first time posting on Taxi Forum (link below). Here's something I put together a few months ago that I would love some feedback on. Please note I'm VERY new to this, so I'm super open-minded to feedback. I plan on rerecording all these tracks after I get some suggestions and invest in better recording equipment for the guitar and vocals (the keys and bass are digital and the drums are a Logic Pro pre-set track). After I rerecord I'll be sending the tracks out to Ronan Murphy for mixing and mastering, as I was fortunate enough to win the raffle at this year's Taxi Rally.

https://on.soundcloud.com/jhXse

deantaylor
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: Empty Stages ROUGH DEMO

Post by deantaylor » Thu Dec 14, 2023 3:36 pm

Hey Sean,

Welcome to the forum.

I think your song has potential. I like the vibe. I think your voice and vocal style will sound good on it.
It's cool that you'll get a Ronan Murphy mix-master!
Do you have a reference track in mind for sound and style?

If your goal is film-tv, the lyrics might not be the best for that. Your lyrics seem to fit an antagonistic relationship scene, but I'm not sure how well they fit what clients generally look for. Of course, sometimes it is more the vibe producers want and the lyrics don't matter so much.

Note: I tend to write some lyrics just to make a good song, and let the film-tv chips fall where they may (sometimes these songs surprise me and get sync licenses). Other lyrics I write more with general film-tv rules and conventions in mind. But either way I like to know if others think the lyrics/song are 'placeable'.

Dean

deantaylor
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Post by deantaylor » Fri Dec 15, 2023 4:39 am

On changing lyrics for film-tv