Failure and success

We're putting YOU in the drivers seat!

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

bakerstreet
Active
Active

Failure and success

Post by bakerstreet » Tue Jun 18, 2019 4:40 am

Hi everyone, this is a question for the successful members please. Success meaning full-time income from music placements.

It is early days for me and I'm submitting every week. No forwards yet, let alone placements. However I am under the impression that I'll need to submit 100 tracks before I start hitting the mark. I'm treating each return as an opportunity to learn from the valuable feedback.

My goal is to be full-time in 3 years from now. I have a business that provides me with an income but my life-long dream has been to write music. I was a professional Deejay for many years in London's Westend Clubs. I find I love orchestral film music and have invested over the last few years in Vienna Pro and NI.

I've also completed a music production diploma with distinction in 4 of the six topics covered in the course, so I'm feeling good with where I am. So what is my question?

Quite simply, should I expect to get any placements during the first 100 submissions or is it all going to be just learning. I'm happy either way and will keep plugging at it. I've found Taxi to be a tremendous opportunity and great learning experience. I'm just trying to keep my expectations in check. I set a goal to submit 50 tracks between rallies and right now I've averaging 1-3 submissions per week but I feel I still have to find my way so I'm looking for any comments or suggestions to help me see my way.

What was your experience? How did you get through it. I'm hoping to get from it rather than just get through it, but there is no denying that return after return when I think "I must have nailed it" is a little hard to take. I've only submitted 9 tracks because I keep quality controlling myself. 91 to go!

Anyway, thanks for taking time to read/respond to this in advance.