We're putting YOU in the drivers seat!

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

PJMack
Getting Busy
Getting Busy

First attempt at a dramady cue

Post by PJMack » Sat Dec 10, 2016 7:20 am

Hi TAXI members,
after having watched the excellent Reverse engineering shows, (Thank you Michael and Dean) I was inspired to write this cue.
I would be really grateful for any opinions if you can spare 2 minutes.
I tried to write a positive, uplifting dramady cue, with a slight touch of melancholia, with easy edit points every 14.5 seconds.
Perhaps you could tell me whether or not I have succeeded. Thank you in advance.

Respect Paul

title " Family Days"

https://soundcloud.com/pauljamesmccormack/family-days

RonKujawa
Committed Musician
Committed Musician

Re: First attempt at a dramady cue

Post by RonKujawa » Sat Dec 10, 2016 3:06 pm

I'll start by saying I am far from an expert in this genre.

Sonically, things seem to work pretty well. When the piano first comes in, it felt a little dry, like it was in a different space than everything else. Once the other instruments came in, it didn't stick out nearly as much.

My understanding of the Dramedy genre is that it is part drama and part comedy. Without the comedy part, I don't think it's Dramedy. Your piece is nice and the drama part is there, but I'm not getting any comedic sense.

Also, with such a central melodic theme, if it were me I'd consider adding a B section to break it up a bit.

Anyway, that's my 2 cents. Hopefully someone with more expertise will chime in with better input.

Ron

hummingbird
Total Pro
Total Pro

Post by hummingbird » Sat Dec 10, 2016 4:17 pm