Getting paid Sync Fees

A creative space for business discussions.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

JonathanE
Impressive
Impressive

Getting paid Sync Fees

Post by JonathanE » Thu Jun 09, 2022 5:26 pm

Hello everyone!

I'm a somewhat newbie, and forgive me if this has been asked elsewhere, but I'm wondering how people here get paid their sync fees (not PRO)... Do you get a check after a month or two after the "synchronization" happens? Does the library that has your track send you a check in the mail? Also, does the library notify you that they are sending you a check before they send it? Do you get an email or something? And does whether you get notified or not depend on the library? Do some libraries just send sync fee checks without any notification beforehand? From the library's perspective, when a film company signs/syncs one of their tracks, does the library get paid right away? Or is it quite a lag time for that sync fee (not PRO)?

Also, is there such thing as an "average" sync fee amount, or do they vary wildly? Is a 1k or 2k sync fee quite common?

Thanks for any help you can give, cheers!

-Jonathan
“He who would learn to fly one day must first learn to walk and run and climb and dance; one cannot fly into flying.”
https://www.taxi.com/members/jonathane
jonathan@earthenmusic.com

Casey H
King of the World
King of the World

Re: Getting paid Sync Fees

Post by Casey H » Thu Jun 09, 2022 6:31 pm

Hi Jonathan
Everything varies from library to library. Sometimes you'll be told about a sync fee, sometimes you won't even know until money shows up- a nice surprise. Many libraries pay via PayPal, others by check, some give you a choice. PayPal is more and more common.