Hard rock meets country: A request

We're putting YOU in the drivers seat!

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

DannyWeber
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Hard rock meets country: A request

Post by DannyWeber » Wed Sep 25, 2013 9:09 am

Thanks to all of you, who welcomed me to the forums. Request: I wrote what I feel is a contemporary country song. I am a hard rock kind of guy but when I experimented with some contemporary country listings, I came up with a song on my taxi page called, "Eileen". I had a lot of fun writing and performing this song but I want to learn what the pros have to say, so I can make the next country song even better.

I have a lot of questions and I don't expect you to answer them all. This is my first attempt at country and I would like to know the following...

1. Does it fit the genre... contemporary country? If not, can you point me in the right direction?
2. I think the song might sound too stripped down and/or basic. Does it need more instrumentation or vocal parts? If so, what would you add and where?
3. I think the first verse and choruses may be too repetitive or long. If so, how would you correct them?
4. The lyrics may be vague but I was trying to write a dream sequence and/or infatuation. Do you feel the lyrics need to be changed and how would you change them.
5. I think it might need a solo or completely different bridge. Is the song structure Okay? If not, how would you change it?
6. Does anything stand out as being out of place or obviously wrong? If so, how would you fix it?
7. Are the levels right? If not, what would you change about the mix?

I am constantly updating my songs so this link may not work.
https://soundcloud.com/hitter527/eileen

The song is, "Eileen" and it is also on my taxi page.

Remember, this is my first attempt.

Thank you,
Danny Weber
https://www.taxi.com/members/danweber

Go your own way! Out of necessity, drive, gumption, whatever.. don't let anyone tell you you can't!