Have Bed: Need killer lyrics and Vox!

Songwriting, songwriters, etc

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

thegajman
Impressive
Impressive

Have Bed: Need killer lyrics and Vox!

Post by thegajman » Wed Aug 02, 2017 8:18 pm

I have one of those songs that I've been wrestling with (for about 3 years!). There have been multiple versions of it (male and female) with different lyrics and melodies, and a ton of different arrangements/mixes.

I know there are songs that you just need to "let go of" after multiple returns, but I'm still happy with the music bed (apart from the dreary opening) and song structure of this one (happy to hear differing opinions on that) and I still think it has potential. I just haven't been able to write a current sounding melody and lyrics.

In the critique of my latest return for it's latest incarnation "Suddenly", I scored well in terms of Song Structure, Production, Engineering and Musicianship (all 8's).. but it was the melody and lyrics that let it down.

Here is the music bed...
https://soundcloud.com/user-121415238/music-bed/s-k1Ncv

(I'm reluctant to post the completed song because I don't want to limit anyone's creativity as far as the melody that this song needs.)

Here's an excerpt from the super helpful critique - thank you screener #368 !...

The stylistic direction of your composition "Suddenly" would likely be considered contemporary pop by most definitions and standards of measure. There are a lot of solid elements to this production, but it needs updating in the way the writing is done particularly the phrasing and rhythm of the melodic content being sung for it to be as viable as necessary.