Hello from the West of Ireland

A cozy place to hang out and discuss all things music.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

Kerryman

Hello from the West of Ireland

Post by Kerryman » Thu Nov 16, 2023 3:33 am

Hello! I'm Stephen, a semi-retired professional photographer. Originally from the UK and based on the South west coast of Ireland for the last 25 years. I signed up to Taxi yesterday, having 'lurked' for a few weeks, watching videos and following the emails for requests. I decided I had enough tunes filed away to at least have a go at submitting 5 or 10, so here I am!

I've been playing in bands and writing music since the late 1970's, mainly as a hobby. That said, I've had a little bit of success on Spotify and with Pond 5. Also some recorded music has been live streamed by YT channels based in Australia, and I presented an audio visual show (with me playing my DAW!) at a Chamber music festival in County Kerry, Ireland in August this year. I'm mostly interested in writing instrumentals, probably aimed at TV, films and games - but I'm not closed off to other opportunities.

Interestingly, in the 1980's I subscribed to the photography equivalent of Taxi (The Bureau of Freelance Photographers - BFP) in the UK. It was a monthly newsletter that gave members contact details of magazines / books etc, that needed specific types of photographs. I sold a few (hundred) photos through them and also got contacts to editors that I would never have known about -some of whom gave me commissions.

The main difference with Taxi, is that submissions made to the clients were not approved by the BFP, I sent them straight to the client.

I am someone that has taught photography and worked as an editor, and so have been on the 'approving / not approving' side of the work so, I have mixed views about it. How do you feel about going through the approval process at Taxi? Do you think it hampers your progress or expedites it?

Stephen, Kerry, Ireland

cosmicdolphin
Serious Musician