Hi! I'm a new member and I'd like to introduce myself

A cozy place to hang out and discuss all things music.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

PetePrice

Hi! I'm a new member and I'd like to introduce myself

Post by PetePrice » Tue Jun 28, 2022 11:39 am

Hello fellow members. My name is Pete Price and I'm new to Taxi. The last few weeks have been a great learning experience for me to try to understand this side of the music business.

I'm 69 y/o and although I'm getting to be an old dog, I'm trying to learn some new tricks. I will try my best to be supportive and helpful with my comments in the forum. Certainly, at first, I'll probably have to take more than I give.

I have played guitar in a local cover band for many years but have always wanted to push my original music. All of my songs so far fall into the singer-songwriter style although the genres go from rock to Americana to slightly country.

I've watched Taxi TV the last few weeks and have learned quite a bit so far. It has created more questions than answers though.

My first big question is; Is it at all possible for a guitarist with no keyboard skills and limited DAW skills to become successful through Taxi? I have always written songs with music and lyrics with the intent to create songs to perform. Are these skills transferrable to writing instrumental Cues for movies and TV shows?

I've posted three songs so far if anyone wanted to give a listen and possibly provide some feedback. I promise not to take any critical feedback personally. I really want to figure out if this is just a pipedream for me or if I actually work at this, could I possibly have some modest success?

My music can be found at www.petepricemusic.com or on bandcamp at peteprice1.bandcamp.com

Many thanks!

kregdurant
Getting Busy
Getting Busy

Re: Hi! I'm a new member and I'd like to introduce myself

Post by kregdurant » Tue Jul 05, 2022 3:36 pm

PetePrice wrote:
Tue Jun 28, 2022 11:39 am