How do Cues work?

A cozy place to hang out and discuss all things music.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

JCMac

How do Cues work?

Post by JCMac » Wed May 20, 2015 5:03 am

I am new to Taxi and am interested in writing cues but don't know much about them can anyone educate me....thanks...

admin
Site Admin

Re: How do Cues work?

Post by admin » Wed May 20, 2015 11:23 am

Hi JC,

Welcome to the forum, and here's the short answer:

Cues are usually short instrumental pieces that have little to no intro, often just an "A" section which is somewhat analogous to a song's chorus, SOMETIMES a "B" section as well, and they generally stick to one musical idea or motif. They last from 30 seconds to maybe as long as 2:30, so to keep them from getting boring or being too linear, composers build interest by adding additional layers of instrumentation every 4 or 8 bars to keep the piece moving forward. They often build them up section by section, then include a breakdown, taking the track back to it's basic instrumentation, then repeating the building process again. The spaces between those sections are good places to build in obvious (but still musical) edit points so music supes and editors can use sections of your cue.

It's rare that a cue would be used in its entirety. Sometimes they might only use a few seconds!

Building to some kind of crescendo near the end, then closing out with a non-faded ending—often called a buttoned or stinger ending — is pretty standard, and makes your cue more desirable to editors who often need to back-time it to a scene's ending. Cues can be done with a solo instrument, a small ensemble or band, up to a full orchestra and everything in between. They are done in many different genres and moods like light, uplifting acoustic, to dramedy, to suspense, to hip hop, to dance, etc. , etc., etc.