How to handle rewrites

Songwriting, songwriters, etc

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

ssisk

How to handle rewrites

Post by ssisk » Mon Jul 16, 2007 5:32 am

I am relatively new to Taxi and I am just starting to get some critiques on my submissions. I want to address the suggestions for improving the lyrics for future submissions--do I need to recut the demos (i.e. punch in the new lyrics) or is it acceptable to note the edited lyrics on the lyric sheets and leave the original demo intact? It becomes costly to re-record, but I want my songs to get the best shot. I don't have a feel for how well the reviewers can envision an edited lyric within a preexisting demo.Thanks for your advice!Sandra

dayson1
Getting Busy
Getting Busy

Re: How to handle rewrites

Post by dayson1 » Mon Jul 16, 2007 10:16 am

Hi Sandra, Welcome:)If you are doing a re-write, then you will need to re-cut the demo.You want to give whoever is listening the impression that you are a complete Professional, and you are right? If you just noted the lyric changes, you would only distract them from the song itself.It would give the impression you are not willing to go the extra mile and correct any perceived weakness in the song. I would do a few re-writes and get some feedback on which is the better of them and then re-demo the song.Do you produce your own demos. or do you use a demo service?There are a lot of people here with a lot of great advice. I am sure you will hear more:)) I hope this helps a little:))-Dana
Dana

horacejesse
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Post by horacejesse » Mon Jul 16, 2007 11:30 pm