I need Laskow to respond to this.

Did you get a deal through TAXI? Lets hear about it!

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

geo
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

I need Laskow to respond to this.

Post by geo » Mon Sep 03, 2007 4:45 am

Hi ho Geo here, I have an issue here. I'm a newbie (relax I'm not bitching about Taxi, I am very clear on what Taxi is, no need to mobilize your inner circle for defense) and I got my first forward to ______ Management for a song, not impressed by the company but OK, I'll develop the contact, see where it goes. It goes nowhere. The company has no web presence Google can find, the only thing I can find is a myspace site for _____ the A&R guy for the company (formed by the members kicked out of _______) and I can't even send an email to him. The screener for the song suggested a rewrite for the 2nd verse of the song which I did but Gee, chances are they will never hear it. I know, I know I have to be patient, etc. But no. We as songwriters at least deserve the courtesy of a contact (email etc.) so we can start to build a dialog with OUR prospective customers. I know well these guys are too busy, blah, blah blah. B.S. Too busy too send one email to the person who may have written the biggest hit their artist ever had? If the songwriter is immature and abuses the privilege how hard is it too put their email address in the spam file and poof, never seen again. At the point of the forward Taxi has made their money and I think the whole "your on your own now" attitude is a cop out. The companies should provide a contact to the songwriters of the songs they receive. I know your allegiance lies with your clients ML but every now and again how about a little help for your writers? Geo

hummingbird
Total Pro
Total Pro

Re: I need Laskow to respond to this.

Post by hummingbird » Mon Sep 03, 2007 5:01 am