Instrumental cue, mixing

We're putting YOU in the drivers seat!

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

BryanJNelson

Instrumental cue, mixing

Post by BryanJNelson » Fri Feb 28, 2020 5:09 pm

Hello all!

I'm new to Taxi, well this is my second go around. I had a 1 year subscription a couple of years ago and want to give it a more serious shot this time around (5 year plan)!

Anyway, I was wondering if I could get some feedback on a song, such as with the mix and overall feel of the piece. I submitted it for this listing "EMOTIONALLY UPBEAT POP/ROCK INSTRUMENTAL CUES are needed by a fast-growing European Music Library that's building a new catalog and is looking for a bunch of music in this style".

I am also wondering how close to the mark I might be with this piece.

Here is the link. https://soundcloud.com/bryan-nelson-4/endless-time

Thank you so much and I look forward to listening to everyone else's music!

Kind regards,
Bryan

ttully
Committed Musician
Committed Musician

Re: Instrumental cue, mixing

Post by ttully » Sun Mar 01, 2020 9:12 am

Hi Bryan,

There are slight timing issues that make it seem like I am listening to about 4 songs at once..... especially thru headphones.
The parts do not mesh correctly.

Tim

DanWessels
Active
Active

Post by DanWessels » Sun Mar 01, 2020 1:29 pm

Hey Bryan! Welcome back to Taxi!

In my understanding, you want the vibe and emotion of an instrumental cue to be crystal clear from the moment you hit play. The backwards piano you start with gave me a much different vibe than the cue sounds like a minute in. (also, the pulse I felt with only the piano was COMPLETELY thrown off once the other instruments enter - a cool effect on a song, but maybe not too jarring for an instrumental cue). Maybe try adding one or more of your other elements to the piano at the top to give a clearer indication of the vibe you're going for right from the get go.