Introduction

A cozy place to hang out and discuss all things music.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

geofferic
Active
Active

Introduction

Post by geofferic » Thu Aug 16, 2018 12:59 pm

Hi, I'm a newbie round here and looking forward to getting more involved.
If I may introduce myself.
My name is Phil. My main instrument is bass, I also play guitar, and have been playing semi-pro since my first paid gig in 1977 when I was 17 (you do the maths -yes 'maths' :-), I'm from Yorkshire/UK). The bands I've been in were mainly classic rock covers with some occasional original songs. Now, I'm at an age where I can't be bothered with playing live gigs. I do love playing live but I hate the other 80% of getting there, humping gear, waiting, stripping down, humping gear and driving home. TAXI seems like the perfect opportunity to carry on doing what I love without all the stuff I don't like.
I have already decided I will be joining TAXI proper but before I do I have a couple of concerns niggling in my mind.

1. How many members are based in the UK (or other non US) and being successful in terms of receiving payment from their PRO (PRS I assume)? Money isn't my main motivation but a goal is for this endeavour to pay for itself between 2 to 5 years.

2. Should I submit even though I know what I have could be better? For example I could submit something and get a response something like "the strings don't sound authentic". Well I could have told you that myself. On the other hand that comment may not come back. In which case I'd be wasting my time/money improving them. Is this just part of the learning process? I'm still feeling I'm not quite good enough yet but just can't decide when to jump.
Is it better to let the screeners review my stuff (and/or peer-to-peer) even though I know there's more could be done? When do you decide something is worth submitting, or do you take a punt and let the screeners call it?