Is this typical after a forward?

A cozy place to hang out and discuss all things music.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

SeanieRanz

Is this typical after a forward?

Post by SeanieRanz » Sat May 01, 2021 8:41 am

So I got contacted by a company, after a forward, who's name I won't share on here..instead of being interested in working out a contract for a placement, they want me to basically register my music to their platform where anyone who is interested in licensing music can find my music on their website (as well as many other artist) and use it. In other words, they don't plan on trying to get my songs placed anywhere but are allowing my songs to be uploaded on their site for others to use

I'm rather new to Taxi so I'm not sure if this type of follow up is typical.

Also, another thing that stood out to me is that I didn't need to have a PRO to receive royalties if a placement were to occur. They said they pay artist via PayPal

I'm hesitant to submit any material and sign anything until I hear from others first.

Any feedback would be welcomed. Thanks!

eeoo
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: Is this typical after a forward?

Post by eeoo » Sat May 01, 2021 11:53 am

It's not uncommon to upload tracks to library catalogs yourself. You'll often be asked to provide metadata and composer splits and all of your PRO info as well. They will pitch your track when opportunities arise but they can't pitch it if they don't have it.

As far as royalties - for performance royalties you will need to be a member of a PRO. For money that is paid to the library upfront, such as licensing/sync fees, they will pay you directly.

cosmicdolphin
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Post by cosmicdolphin » Sat May 01, 2021 12:31 pm

SeanieRanz wrote:
Sat May 01, 2021 8:41 am
Does not sound like a " proper " Library deal to me - Sounds more like a Royalty Free type platform ?