Just installed EWQL Pianos. Good gravy, is it beautiful.

Tell Your Friends about Gear that you love

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

ckbarlow
Committed Musician
Committed Musician

Just installed EWQL Pianos. Good gravy, is it beautiful.

Post by ckbarlow » Sat Oct 30, 2010 8:23 pm

It's a beast at 230GB (35 install disks!) and my dual G5 whimpers a little, but the sound is pretty stunning. This is the kind of VI that makes you fall in love with just sitting and playing all over again. (IMHO.)

I started playing and my spouse came in the room and said, "My gosh, that sounds amazing!" (And she doesn't pull any punches, lemme tell ya! LOL)

cameron
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: Just installed EWQL Pianos. Good gravy, is it beautiful.

Post by cameron » Sun Oct 31, 2010 9:02 pm

Nice purchase CK!

I've been using the free CV Piano developed by Teac and found its sound pretty amazing, but I do run into some strange audio glitches, i.e. when my anti-virus software updates (this is Windows XP) and announces to me that the database has been updated, the piano jumps an octave until I restart my audio device. I've learned to live with the glitches, and sure can't complain about the price, but I have wondered if I would have the same sort of issues if I spent several hundred dollars for another piano program. I also had to modify the sounds a little so that they used less CPU or I would get strange noise and sometimes lock-ups when I played too many notes at once. That didn't bother me, as I actually think I improved the sound, but I still have to be careful not to play too many notes too fast. The computer is running a 2.8 GHz processor and has 2 GB of RAM. That's probably at the low end of what is necessary.

Have you run into any issues like that? I have thought of switching to a MAC next time I update my computer, but that would mean investing on all new software.

How expensive is the EWQL package?

Thanks!

Cam

mojobone
King of the World
King of the World