Midi Controller vs. the Korg M50 - Do I need something less bulky?

Tell Your Friends about Gear that you love

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

danconnolly

Midi Controller vs. the Korg M50 - Do I need something less bulky?

Post by danconnolly » Mon Nov 22, 2021 5:39 am

Hey guys,

I'm new to creating production music and I'm wondering about the Midi controller thing. I have an old Korg M50 which is great but it's definitely a dated synth at this point. Anyone getting forwards using one??? Just wondering about getting a Midi Controller and things like capability, cost, number of octaves, etc. Is there a key issue I should focus on when looking at them? Any feedback welcome.

Thanks
"Because life is better with music."

Ted
Impressive
Impressive

Re: Midi Controller vs. the Korg M50 - Do I need something less bulky?

Post by Ted » Mon Nov 22, 2021 8:53 pm

I'm not familiar with the Korg keyboard, but I have an old Roland XP-80 "arranger workstation" that I used to use a long time ago--probably similar in function. It was a great piece of gear when it came out but I haven't touched the thing in ages. Maybe I should dust it off for the heck of it.

I had thought about using that Roland as a MIDI Controller with my DAW, but it was pre-USB and has the old MIDI connection only. I did buy a converter cable, but never ended up using it. I found that I could use my Yamaha Digital piano as a MIDI controller so that's what I used for a while-- I later bought a cheapo 49 key M-Audio MIDI controller that was more portable.

At this point in time, I think using a MIDI controller to play soft synths in a DAW or standalone is the way to go. You can get a decent MIDI controller for not a lot of money and some nice sounds for free or cheap-- and you can end up spending a lot on soft synths as you go (I'm starting to fall into this category).