Laptop configurations

with industry Pro, Nick Batzdorf

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

soulwire

Laptop configurations

Post by soulwire » Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:37 am

I am a softsynth hound, I love softsynths (especially Colossus -- 32 GB Synth). Anyways, I finally decided to take the plunge and gig live (I'm a studio musician so that means buying some gear!). I have a nice desktop computer but wanted a laptop for live. I purchased a Toshiba Satellite Intel Core 2 Duo T5200 with 2 gigs of Ram and dual hard drives. It came with Windows Vista.I loaded my programs on there (Sonar, FL Studio, Reason) and lo and behold, Sonar couldn't find my audio card. No problem, I had a Korg Kontrol 1 coming (I knew the laptops sound card latency would be an issue since it's not ASIO. Korg Kontrol looked nice, USB ASIO with 2 ins and 2 outs so you could have a click track on one out, with the music on the other). I got the Kontrol 1 and plugged it in. Ahh, got a decent 15 msec latency, not bad not bad. I do computer tech support at my work, so I'm lucky to know how to tweak away but I never messed much with laptops (strange but true!). Here was my problem... The first is that there are some programs that I use that are written in XP that don't work in Vista (Boo!). If you ever heard of a yamaha EZ-AG, you can basically have a MIDI guitar for about $150 (works great too, I've been using it for a couple years!) but the interface only works in XP. So then I downgraded to XP, after much boohooing (Vista looked perty). Another thing I noticed is even with the modified soundcard, about every 45 seconds my sound would lag for about 1 second! I'd be playing a song and everything would just completely seize up for a moment. It was driving me nuts. I adjusted the latency and was able to finally get it to stop lagging if I used a 40 msec delay (40 msec ahhh!) so I was bummed and determined to figure out what the heck it was. Maybe the laptop wasn't fast enough to handle live audio. Well, I