Looking for Direction

Songwriting, songwriters, etc

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

jerwes

Looking for Direction

Post by jerwes » Thu Dec 22, 2022 10:21 am

hello,
I am new to taxi, I recently got back into song writing and I'm still finding my grove and honing my skills. I am also attempting to learn how to produce and work a DAW.
I recently submitted a song for a country listing. It was returned, and I'm completely ok with that. I understand that its a learning experience and I want to create better songs. However I don't get to ask the reviews more details, and I am not expecting someone else to fix the song. I just need more clarification on somethings.

The listing I submitted for was https://www.taxi.com/listings/S221207AJ

Here is the critique

I think you could improve this song by :
However, the musical feel could hit with some more power. This sounds a bit muddy in the delivery and there could be a more booming and impactful drum groove to carry this idea.

I returned or forwarded this song because
The drums need a boost to really give some power to the pitch and add in a catchier sound and feel to carry this idea.

Other things that were checked
Style
-Not contemporary as requested
Composition
-Melody could be stronger
-Chorus doesn't stand out enough

Here is the song submitted:
https://www.taxi.com/members/8SytlEd5Sf ... -diy-demo-

The recording is a demo. I do not have the skill set at this time to make this sound like a record and I am not going to spend money to hire people and still get a return. I feel like if the submission says a demo is ok and demo didn't get thru then the songs not strong enough yet.

I don't have talented music friends to ask these questions. so I need a little help and direction so I can learn from this experience.

So here are my questions
1. I simplified the melody range in the chorus because what I had felt more poppy, was that a mistake?