My First Year with Taxi

A cozy place to hang out and discuss all things music.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

kyliecouper
Getting Busy
Getting Busy

My First Year with Taxi

Post by kyliecouper » Mon Apr 29, 2019 10:49 pm

I have recently finished my first year with taxi. I thought I would share some stats and some thoughts.

I made 109 submissions, with 60 returns and 49 forwards. I'm pretty happy with that forward rate, especially considering it's my first year.
But I am pretty disappointed that none of those forwards resulted in any contact from any libraries.
I know there are plenty of members with more forwards than that, and also no resulting deals, but it's still a bit deflating.

But on the positive side, I have learnt so much this year! I have learnt:
  • How to write to a brief
  • How to write to a deadline
  • What types of cues are in high demand
  • How to harden up in the face of rejection!
  • How to use the screeners' feedback to improve my music
I have also been able to build up a catalog of tracks that I never would have been able to do without working to taxi listings.
I managed to cold-contact 2 small libraries who accepted some of those tracks, so that was very exciting!

But the very best part of my first taxi year was most definitely the road rally! It was just so suprisingly great!
I read all the comments and reviews beforehand, and I had high hopes, but I was blown away by just how good it was.
I met so many amazing people! People who were noobs like me, people who were well on their way and people at the top of their game.
Everyone was so friendly, so welcoming and just so amazing! I am enormously grateful for the experience, but also to now have these new friends in my life.

So onwards and upwards to year 2!
If any of the more seasoned taxi members have some advice on how I can convert those forwards to signings, I am all ears!

cosmicdolphin
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: My First Year with Taxi