NEW TO TAXI -1980's submission returned - Looking for Advice

Liked your review? Rave about it! Hated it, let us know!

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

letloverule

NEW TO TAXI -1980's submission returned - Looking for Advice

Post by letloverule » Wed Feb 26, 2020 12:05 am

Hey there! So excited to be here with all of you. I'm brand new to taxi and looking for feedback help! I honestly just want to learn and get better at this and figured this was the place!
I submitted a song for a 1980's female listing that got returned because "it sounded dated" and "'The singer felt like she was buried in the track. She was overpowered by the backing track and thus, not quite delivering the top notch vocals needed".
Please be honest as in truth I just wanted an excuse to try and get my wife to sing like Pat Benatar :D But the listing called for 80's sounds (which was a lot of fun and far from my singer/songwriter heart)and I used several reference tracks while I was mixing and the vocals seemed to me to be right where theirs were. Take a listen and let me know!

https://www.taxi.com/members/chaddohring
the song is No Retreat No Surrender

this was the listing:
A RANGE OF 1980s Style POP/ROCK SONGS with Female Vocals are needed for several $4,000, NON-Exclusive, Direct-to-Music Supervisor placements in a TV Series.

The Supervisor is looking for Mid-to-Up-Tempo Songs (Vintage or Modern recordings can both work) that have the general style and vibe of the following references we got from him!

“Hit Me With Your Best Shot” by Pat Benatar

“Don't Get Me Wrong” by The Pretenders

“Barracuda” by Heart

“Would I Lie to You?” by Eurythmics

Quoting the Music Supervisor: “I need Songs with hooky, upbeat grooves, well-crafted lyrics, and top-notch vocal performances. These Songs need to feel and sound like the real deal.”