Newbie Could Use Help Interpreting a Return

Liked your review? Rave about it! Hated it, let us know!

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

regardner
Getting Busy
Getting Busy

Newbie Could Use Help Interpreting a Return

Post by regardner » Fri Nov 17, 2017 1:29 pm

Hello:

I'm a relative newbie, having joined Taxi earlier this year. I received a return on listing S171021CA, which was a listing for AC songs. The reference tracks were Sam Smith's "Good at Goodbyes," Adelle's "Hello," and Ed Sheeran's "Castle on the Hill."

The screener wrote: "Your style and direction musically aren't close enough to an AC/Pop sound. Your song has an Adult Contemporary sound but only appeals to a very specific audience. The listing is targeting an AC sound that's more Universal and can potentially cross over to maintream Pop top 40 formats. Try to use melody ideas, lyrics and concepts that are fresh and relevant today and slim enough to capture the attention of your younger listener's. This would broaden the marketability in your song." And also, "Your melody and lyric structures are catchy and developed in a direction that's unique and interesting, however, melodically you have lots of room to bring the style of the song closer to a Contemporary AC sound. You did a great job fitting in with Adult Contemporary but you need to look for a way to cross over to Pop formats. Using melody ideas and rhythmic styles that are more innovative, have forward moving style that showcases some Pop appeal are ways to freshen your song. Overall you did a solid job establishing your top line, lyric and chorus hook you just need arrangements that cutting edge and ahead of the AC curve."

The song is here: https://soundcloud.com/regardner/i-am-your-arsonist