Newbie intro

A cozy place to hang out and discuss all things music.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

vbakh

Newbie intro

Post by vbakh » Mon Feb 12, 2018 1:23 pm

Hi,

My name is Vlad, I live in Seattle, WA. I've been reading articles on Taxi.com and watching (well, mostly listening) to Taxi TV for a few weeks now, and think it's time to introduce myself and ask a few questions.

I've been playing steel and nylon string acoustic guitars for 30+ years, mostly folk songs with "jazzy" fingerstyle arrangements, and accompanying to singers from time to time. I also play a little bit of piano, bass, ukulele and few other stringed & fretted instruments. I've got Sonar (RIP), Focusrite Scarlett 2i2, an LDC and 2xSDC Oktava mikes, a Nektar impact 49 MIDI controller and full Yamaha e-piano.
New melodies come to me quite often, especially when I mumble on a guitar or piano, or while driving. I'd like to "materialize" several of those mumblings into instrumental tunes first, see how it goes, and then join taxi and begin my "five years plan" from there.

Here is a few questions.
1. If I don't put down what I hear in my head, I'd forget it in a few minutes. How do you capture your musical ideas so you won't lost them, especially when you are not near your studio?
2. Many of the forwarded instrumentals here have clearly sounding melodies on top of the accompaniment. How do you decide when there is too much of a solo for instrumental?
3. Could you recommend a good tutorial about DAW-based drums & percussion topics?

Thanks a lot,
Vlad

mikehamm123
Impressive
Impressive

Re: Newbie intro

Post by mikehamm123 » Mon Feb 12, 2018 10:35 pm

Hi Vlad!
vbakh wrote: If I don't put down what I hear in my head, I'd forget it in a few minutes. How do you capture your musical ideas so you won't lost them, especially when you are not near your studio