Newbie introduction & a few questions

A cozy place to hang out and discuss all things music.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

AManseicher

Newbie introduction & a few questions

Post by AManseicher » Sun Aug 30, 2020 7:29 am

Hi,
being a TAXI Member since January 2020, I still consider myself a Newbie here… I think I’ve learned a few lessons so far, including that it’s no good idea to pitch a pop ballad for country music requests or SciFi-Lab instrumentals for an Irish folk request and vice versa. 😊 However, in the last months I have submitted a total of 27 tracks, resulting in seven forwards (no deals yet), which, I think, might be a good rate, or maybe not – I don’t know.

I’ve always seen myself as a typical singer/songwriter, but about ten years ago I started writing and producing instrumentals in various genres, at the moment it is at a rate of 50/50 between instrumentals and songs; this rate is also displayed in the pool of tracks I’ve already uploaded to TAXI. When I analysed my feedbacks on both returns and forwards I found it surprising that six of my instrumentals had been forwarded, but only one of my songs with vocals. I’m still wondering where this discrepancy may come from – maybe it’s the quality of my lyrics (I’m not a native English speaker), though they haven’t been criticized in the feedbacks. For the moment, my conclusion to this is I will probably upload more instrumentals in the future since - in my case - they seem to have a better chance to get forwarded.

Anyway – in the last half year some questions arose and I wonder if some fellow TAXI passengers with more experience could help me here…?