Newbie Question

A cozy place to hang out and discuss all things music.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

Inkstringer

Newbie Question

Post by Inkstringer » Mon Feb 26, 2024 12:02 pm

Hello Everyone,

My name is Chris Nelson and I am new to Taxi. I recently had a forward to a music library that has been around for a while. After signing an exclusive contract for the one song, they evidently reviewed my Spotify and social media accounts and asked me for ALL my music and needed it "by the end of the day" for submissions. Being new to this, I said "yes" and just signed another contract for all my songs. My questions is, I also have now some interest in a country music singer recording one of my songs. Did I shoot myself in the foot by giving everything to the music library for TV, Music and advertisements or can I still do a deal for someone to record and publish / perform the song? Thanks to all! I am sure this questions has probable been posted and answered, so please forgive me if it has.

AlanHall
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: Newbie Question

Post by AlanHall » Mon Feb 26, 2024 4:33 pm

Inkstringer wrote:
Mon Feb 26, 2024 12:02 pm
... and just signed another contract for all my songs...
So you sent the publisher a list of all the songs you've written, by name, and given then the rights to these songs? If that's the case, you simply need to write more songs that you can shop around to artists. Or direct the artist to the library that is now administering your music, for any songs now under their control.

If I'm understanding this correctly. It almost sounds like you've agreed to let this publisher have all your songs that you have written or ever will write. But I'm sure that's not the case.

VanderBoegh
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Post by VanderBoegh » Mon Feb 26, 2024 4:53 pm