Newbie - This is a true story….

A cozy place to hang out and discuss all things music.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

unitof

Newbie - This is a true story….

Post by unitof » Mon Dec 02, 2013 8:43 pm

First of all, I had never heard of Taxi until last week, but this is a great place.

Yes, I am a newbie. And this is my story…

Ever wonder why no one came along and topped the Beatles?

Well, you're about to read a possible answer.

You see, if I hadn't taken up the accordion and won all those competitions, my brother probably wouldn't have been interested in letting me to sit in with his band. He was an incredible guitarist, and we just happened to have a next door neighbor who could sing like Bon Jovi.

So the prerequisite years learning keyboards in a band, playing the coffeehouses, figuring out songs etc. But this also created an opportunity, because our school stage band needed a pianist, and even though I couldn't technically play the piano, I was in. So two years of playing the standards, and then one day, starting to write for stage band. The teacher was impressed, enough to ask me to write the theme song for an upcoming musical.

All this, in hindsight, served as a kind of preparation. Because on that fateful day, I met 'the genius'. We had rubbed shoulders through a mutual friend previously, but barely. But on this day, as we were by happenstance at the same store, I mentioned that I had written for stage band (which I now realize would have impressed him, as he played trumpet in his stage band). And he related that he had just acquired a Tascam 244.

I'm dating myself, but this was probably the first home studio, albeit a 4 track cassette. All in all, a great little machine. So he invited me to come over and listen to some songs he'd written and recorded.