Noticed EZ drummers don't play in time?

with industry Pro, Nick Batzdorf

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

ernstinen
Total Pro
Total Pro

Noticed EZ drummers don't play in time?

Post by ernstinen » Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:38 pm

I've been working with EZDrummer for a few months. It's basically a great thing.

But have you ever torn the Midi tracks apart and looked at them? Or course a REAL drummer doesn't play perfectly in time, but you would think "The BEST drummers in the world" would... They don't.

I'm writing a new piece that is supposed to sound like a ''real" rock band." --- But in a REAL rock band, you have a groove. You anticipate where the drummer rushes and slows down a tad.

Not with these drummers! It takes FOREVER to get a groove on bass and guitar.... Sure, you can separate each track into Midi and quantize it, but isn't that the opposite of what you want?

I feel like I'm back in high school, trying to get a feel for the drummer's oddities... Anyway it's pretty cool (although it takes a LONG time to get it locked in).

Just a thought,

Erm :)

Kolstad
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: Noticed EZ drummers don't play in time?

Post by Kolstad » Thu Apr 12, 2018 12:36 am

These are ez tools, but often if you leave it at that they are too ez. You could give it more process (break the recording up in more steps), like pick a loop in ez you feel is close, then record a bassline to it. Then open a second instance of the plugin, and record the drum parts yourself, using pads or an e-kit. Then delete the sterile ez midi loop from the first instance. Sometimes you need to re-record the bass track too. But that is one way to get more bounce and variety on record. You can also work with changing the tempo slightly in sections in the daw.

Basically just use the built in loops as a starting point and a temp track, and work on swapping them out with your own parts.
Ceo of my own life

ernstinen
Total Pro
Total Pro

Post by ernstinen » Thu Apr 12, 2018 10:27 am