Performance royalties

A creative space for business discussions.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

Gator
Active
Active

Performance royalties

Post by Gator » Wed Apr 02, 2014 6:34 am

Hey folks. I'm one of the taxi members who would rather be a singer /performer than a song writer. I dont write songs for example for tv or commercials etc. But it seems like the only way to get into this game and get a record deal is to write a song that hopefully some famous guy will record. So supposing you send a song in to Joe Famous. He likes your song and it goes on his album but....although the song is good enough for the album it's not strong enough to be his next hit single.
Because your song became an album track and not a released single it will never get played on the radio. So does that mean you wont get paid a darn cent because there are no performance royalties?
Sorry, im very new at this and was under the intersession hat the song writer only gets paid if the song is performed. Even if Joe Famous was to play your song at the odd concert it would make you enough money for bus fare. Thanks all for any info or advice. Xave. ;)
Your Friendly Foreign Gator

coachdebra
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: Performance royalties

Post by coachdebra » Wed Apr 02, 2014 10:27 am

Gator wrote:Hey folks. I'm one of the taxi members who would rather be a singer /performer than a song writer. I dont write songs for example for tv or commercials etc. But it seems like the only way to get into this game and get a record deal is to write a song that hopefully some famous guy will record. So supposing you send a song in to Joe Famous. He likes your song and it goes on his album but....although the song is good enough for the album it's not strong enough to be his next hit single.
Because your song became an album track and not a released single it will never get played on the radio. So does that mean you wont get paid a darn cent because there are no performance royalties?