What are you guys using for drum tracks?

with industry Pro, Nick Batzdorf

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

asiabackpacker
Getting Busy
Getting Busy

What are you guys using for drum tracks?

Post by asiabackpacker » Tue Oct 23, 2007 1:41 pm

I did endless hours of 4-tracking in high school and college, but I'm relatively new to desktop producing, so forgive my ignorance.I've gotten pretty competent in navigating my way around Pro Tools, and editing audio. I still have a long way to go, and I'm trying to improve all areas of being my own producer.But my main concern right now is that I spend way to much time trying to program drums and getting them right, and am still never happy with the end result.I've been using BFD, but it's so fiddly trying to program each drum beat individually, and I can never get the beat to sound quite right partly because I'm not a drummer. Also the program is so CPU intensive that it always craps out on me no matter what I do, and what troubleshooting steps I follow.Was thinking of some pre-recorded drum loops, or some other groove package. I don't really know much about the options. Am curious what you guys are using to add drums to your home demos, or any other advice you may have for me....relating to drums or just being a better desktop-producer in general (trying to go from a notch above beginner to somewhere below intermediate...)Thanks!Elliott

davewalton
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: What are you guys using for drum tracks?

Post by davewalton » Tue Oct 23, 2007 2:07 pm