Vocal EQing

with industry Pro, Nick Batzdorf

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

edteja
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: Vocal EQing

Post by edteja » Fri Sep 15, 2006 1:23 am

I just went back and remixed a tune based on some of these ideas. The difference is subtle but, I think, a major improvement in creating the desired impression on the listener. More practice is required and past results are no guarantee of future performance. but what the heck?
"In the future, when we finally get over racism, bigotry, and everyone is purple, red, and brown ... then we'll have to hate people for who they truly are."--George Carlin

ernstinen
Total Pro
Total Pro

Post by ernstinen » Fri Sep 15, 2006 11:48 am

I've been a recording engineer for over 30 years, and my mantra is:USE YOU EARS. Maybe that's too obvious! Here's what I do: Match the mic to the timbre of the singer's voice. As has been said, flat is good. I like singers to be pretty close to the mic.But I don't subscribe to the "cut eq only" theory. It really depends. Use your ears. For instance, if your compressor takes some of the clarity out of the vocal, it's not a sin to find the frequencies that are lacking and boost them back up a bit.However, if you have a vocalist who has a real cutting voice, it's fine to find the offending frequency and roll that off a bit. In any situation, though, don't overdo it. 4 db is a LOT of eq. If you're going beyond that, you're doing something wrong somewhere along the line.Basically, there are no rules as far as I'm concerned. Just make it sound as good as possible.Oh, yes, the PERFORMANCE is mas importante!Ernesto

andreh
Committed Musician
Committed Musician

Post by andreh » Fri Sep 15, 2006 4:15 pm